skip to main content

Our Partners

OntarioMD works with other provincial organizations to deliver ehealth solutions for physicians that are integrated with their certified EMRs.

Ontario Medical Association

The Ontario Medical Association (OMA) represents the political, clinical and economic interests of the province's medical profession. Practicing physicians, residents, and students enrolled in any of the five Ontario faculties of medicine are eligible for OMA membership. Founded in 1880 as a voluntary association of the province's physicians, the OMA has, from its beginning, played a vital role in the development and promotion of healthcare services across Ontario. Today, the OMA represents Ontario's approximately 24,000 physicians. It is governed by a Council composed of 250 delegates, representing 78 territorial divisions or branch societies, and by the Association's Board of Directors.

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is responsible for administering the healthcare system and providing services to the Ontario public through such programs as health insurance, drug benefits, assistive devices, care for the mentally ill, long-term care, home care, community and public health, and health promotion and disease prevention. It also regulates hospitals and nursing homes, operates psychiatric hospitals and medical laboratories, and coordinates emergency health services.

While OntarioMD is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Ontario Medical Association, it is not funded by the OMA through members' dues. It receives funding from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.